Crypto Play: Metaverse Tokens

SpockTradez
4 min readOct 30, 2021

In game currencies like $SAND and $MANA

So when I first found out about Metaverses like The Sandbox and Decentraland back in Sept, I knew I should buy some of their in-app token, but getting $SAND required me to signup for a new account that supported their token and I was tired of my info being everywhere. Aaaaand of course now it’s up from the $0.60 range and now it’s over $1.

**EDIT**

While writing this, the price of both $MANA and $SAND are rocketing. $SAND is up to $1.40ish — over 40% since I began this article yesterday. $MANA was at $1.77ish and is now in the $2.35 range.

I’ve learned my mistake because the same thing happened months ago when I wanted to get into $SHIB but it wasn’t available anywhere like CoinBase yet and to use the swaps was going to cost too much. Needless to say, my laziness is biting me in the ass right now. Well, NEVER AGAIN!!

Did you think I was joking? 🙈

So if you are waiting for a sign to get into Metaverse token, this is it! I decided to go with Crypto.com which you can sign up using my referral link below (I thank you in advance for your continued support!). These coins may be available on other platforms but after some quick research, I chose this one but DYOR.

Sign Up for Crypto.com using my referral link:

https://platinum.crypto.com/r/yh3gewubaa

OR enter the REFERRAL CODE: yh3gewubaa

Right now I’m mainly looking at $SAND and I like what I’ve seen with The Sandbox and their partnerships. $MANA is the other one I’m interested in as well. But there are plenty of other Metaverses and in-game cryptocurrencies, which I have not researched yet. Here’s a list of Top Metaverse Coins:

Even my boy Gerald Peters just tweeted about it a few minutes ago:

So, what the heck is a Metaverse?

Now that Facebook announced it will be rebranding itself as “Meta” 🙄 I’m sure all the boomers are gonna be asking you what the heck is a Metaverse.

The metaverse is portrayed in popular media as a fully immersive online realm that looks similar to the real world but is computer generated.

Think the Oasis in the book/movie READY PLAYER ONE … and the Facebook version is essentially going to be like what would’ve happened if the evil IOI company took control instead of our main hero.

Now there are currently a lot of companies working on making their own Metaverse platform, who knows if they’ll all live harmoniously or if some will go the way of Friendster and MySpace and only one will emerge victorious. But here’s the main two I am keeping an eye on…

THE SANDBOX

I talked about The Sandbox in a previous post, so here’s a little copypasta of that info:

The Sandbox Platform, which reminds me of Roblox or Minecraft but for an older/wider ranging audience. There’s already some heavy hitters involved with it including The Walking Dead, Atari, and over 160 existing partnerships including Deadmau5, Richie Hawtin, The Smurfs, Care Bears, ZEPETO, and CryptoKitties.

And on top of that, The Sandbox just spent $2.9M on a Bored Ape!

Read more about The Sandbox HERE

Here’s a little preview of the platform:

https://www.sandbox.game/en/

$SAND is the in-app currency for The Sandbox, there are also $LAND NFTs which acts as a blockchain deed and gets you a plot of digital real estate.

Example of $LAND plots on The Sandbox

DECENTRALAND

Just like The Sandbox, Decentraland is another Metaverse platform. It’s currency is $MANA and you can also buy land as an NFT for it as well.

WATCHLIST

Alex Becker has a great video on the future of crypto gaming…

JrnyCrypto also recently posted this video, it’s a gives a good analysis of what lies ahead…

🖖

Sign Up for a Medium Membership: https://spocktradez.medium.com/membership

--

--